Reviews

7.5
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
7.5
Comfort
6.7
Property location
9.0
Facilities
6.6
Staff
7.8
Value
7.4

Reviews

    Armin
    gb

    Review score

    9.2
    20 September 2018

    Value for money, great location.

    room was very small, shower in the bathroom would fill with water
    The location is amazing, room is very clean, very affordable, staff friendly, reception 24/7. La ramblas is a couple minutes walk away, the beach is 15 minutes walk away.
    Katharina
    at

    Review score

    8.3
    18 September 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    WanderingTraveller08
    gb

    Review score

    8.8
    18 September 2018

    Good value, Great location.

    The air conditioning did not work very well. It was quite a noisy machine and the room became quite hot during the night. The room does look a little tired although it seems to have been recently painted.
    It was a clean and comfortable place to spend the night. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It was good value for money. There are lots of cafes and restaurants nearby. There is space to store your luggage after checkout beside the reception desk.
    Volodymyr
    ch

    Review score

    8.8
    17 September 2018
    Excellent location, helpful staff
    Anjan
    it

    Review score

    10
    16 September 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Ali Salloum
    kw

    Review score

    5.8
    14 September 2018
    Its simple for one night no comments just no tea or even hot water
    Location
    gb

    Review score

    5.0
    14 September 2018

    Good location for one night. Sarcastic and disgruntled receptionist.

    Some of the reception staff were lovely one particular male was not so friendly or helpful. He clearly doesn’t like his job and tourist. My towel was covered in someone else’s mascara and our toilet didn’t flush. Our air con was also extremely loud. We requested a travel guide which was not provided.
    The location was brilliant. The the beds were comfortable. Cleaners were friendly.
    Anna Łuńska
    pl

    Review score

    7.1
    13 September 2018
    Cheap, basic.
    Hugh
    ie

    Review score

    8.8
    13 September 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Karen
    nz

    Review score

    9.6
    10 September 2018

    The convenient location makes Pensión Portugal a good choice.

    The power point in the bathroom only worked when the light was on so my phone didn't charge overnight. :(
    The location of Pensión Portugal was amazing. It was only a little way from the Metro which was so convenient for arrival and departure to the airport. The room was safe and secure and comfortable for a solo traveller.
    Nat
    gb

    Review score

    8.8
    9 September 2018
    You get what you pay for to be honest. Don't expect too much from the room or bathroom, and it seems like its luck of the draw as to how nice your room is. Walking out the saw a lot of nicer rooms being cleaned than the one we stayed in.
    In a perfect location for what we needed to do. An underground station is literally 5 minutes away which can take you to lots of tourist attractions. Late check out time meant we could go to the beach before leaving the hotel for good and enjoy our last morning in Barcelona.
    Engela from South Africa
    za

    Review score

    9.2
    8 September 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    K Thomas
    gb

    Review score

    9.6
    7 September 2018

    Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would visit again!

    Only negative is the area can be a bit noisy however this is not the fault of Pension Portugal - double glazing did help!
    Sizeable room given the cost (which was excellent). Room was kept very clean, fresh towels and bedding daily. Good air conditioning. Location great - in the gothic quarter and close to all the shops/restaurants.
    cz

    Review score

    8.3
    3 September 2018
    One shared bathroom for the whole floor.
    Great location and friendly staff.
    Jessica
    gr

    Review score

    7.1
    29 August 2018
    The air con unit is well overdue for a service / clean. The air was dirty, smelt bad and made us feel very unwell. If you are asthmatic like I am I strongly recommend you request a room with a real window/clean aircon unit. As our room was facing the indoor elevator there was no possibility to allow fresh air into the room. We spent as little time here as possible.
    Excellent location, comfortable bed, clean towels provided daily and room serviced daily as well. Shower pressure was the strongest I’ve ever experienced...
    Simina
    gb

    Review score

    8.8
    28 August 2018

    Perfect location

    Perfectly locate within very short walking distance of amenities and tourist attractions (barri gotic, las ramblas, barceloneta beach). The room was very clean and staff were very friendly and helpful.
    Alfred Lung
    cz

    Review score

    9.2
    28 August 2018
    I would do something with the shower, as it was not much space inside after you closed it.
    Perfect location, clean nice pension, sweet staff, very friendly, close to the beach
    Debra
    au

    Review score

    7.1
    28 August 2018

    Basic accommodation, with some facilities . Great central location

    When we arrived late afternoon hot & tired , staff were changing over , and really didn't acknowledge us much for around 15 minutes. The room we were allocated was tiny and on the road . There was no room for our two large luggage that we carried , which l had notified them of many months prior . We asked if there was any other larger rooms available and after quite a bit of time were shown a nice big room with a sofa , seperate ensuite and we moved in there . It was quite comfortable, but none of the rooms we saw were the ones on the website .
    This accommodation couldn't be in a better location for accessing Barcelonas Gothic Quarter , La Rambla and the beach . We were well aware this was a hostel with many levels of accommodation, and we booked superior double room for a great price . It was ok here , very minimalistic & basic , but clean . ( wouldn't be to everyone's taste or standards . ) Some of the staff were extremely helpful and friendly , helping us with coffee making fascilities , where to find the laundromat etc .
    it

    Review score

    6.7
    16 September 2018

    OK experience

    The room given to me was very small. Also, it was immediately next to the reception who started talking loudly since very early morning (I had a short stay so it was fine). If you are a light sleeper like me, ask for a room away from the reception.
    Location is good. Clean. Kind staff - proposed to leave our bags in the reception even after check-out.
    tarasr
    ua

    Review score

    8.8
    12 September 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
Loading reviews